Diversity Committee and Mission Statement

The Mission Statement of the NSP Diversity Committee

The NSP is committed to foster, cultivate, and preserve a culture of diversity, equity, and Inclusion (DEI).

The NSP Diversity Committee’s mission is to ensure that all NSP members feel equally respected, supported, and treated with dignity despite their differences in race, ethnicity, national origin, sex, gender, gender identity, gender expression, disability, age, religion, military/veteran and social status, or income. To accomplish this mission, the Committee makes concerted and on-going efforts to (i) actively examine NSP program’s climate for DEI, (ii) actively promotes recruitment of students, faculty and staff from diverse background, (iii) educate NSP members to identify and mitigate bias, and (iv) develop and implement strategies to elevate equity, embrace diversity, and harness inclusive leadership.

These initiatives will serve as solid and sustainable frameworks to help shift our mindsets and behaviors and promote best practices towards more equitable and inclusive environment for scientific research and excellence.


The NSP Diversity Committee Members

The NSP is pleased to announced that the Diversity Committee includes our faculty, staff and students and represents diverse groups.

Dr. Hee Jung Chung, Chair (NSP Faculty, Molecular and Integrative Physiology)
Dr. Taher Saif (NSP Faculty, Mechanical Science and Engineering)
Dr. Stephanie Ceman (NSP Faculty, Cell and Developmental Biology)
Dr. Janice Juraska (NSP Faculty, Psychology)
Dr. Sanmi Koyejo (NSP Faculty, Computer Science)
Dr. Michelle Tomaszycki (NSP Coordinator)
Ms. Stephanie Pregent (NSP Executive Function Manager)
Stephanie Soriano (NSP Grad Student)
Mickeal Key (NSP Grad Student)
Amara Brinks (NSP Student Organization NSO representative)